Off to the Old World!

Renata and I are leaving for Amsterdam and Ireland in a few hours. I’m already anticipating a problem at the airport, as I have all my medical supplies (with backup kits, natch, as we’re gone for two+ weeks) in one bag, a rollaboard, and a computer bag. Will the baggage police get me? Meanwhile, Renata insists on taking a knapsack, even though Aer Lingus told me specifically no backpacks in the cabin. Couple that with all the usual security and other headaches at Malton, and I’m expecting a just fine time.

Just to add to the fun, I’ve got a nagging pain in my shoulder whose origin is a mystery. So far, six AC&C’s have done little to dull the pain. Luckily, it’s not too long a flight.

We change planes with a 3.5 hour layover in Dublin, so we’re going to get a day pass to the Aer Lingus lounge, where I look forward to meeting their famous hostesses, Annie and Connie. I’ve read conflicting reports on whether they have showers available, but I hope they do, as there is nothing like a hot shower after a long day and overnight flight.

Then it’s off to Amsterdam, where from 10 to 4, we’ll be good little tourists, visiting museums, exploring the city, eating, shopping, etc. Naps and snacks from 4 to 7, and then from 7 on, we’ll be bad little tourists, exploring the more, er, libertarian sides of Dutch life.

I will try to publish updates each night; hope you enjoy them!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

